• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

is RO:HoS pandering too much to the CoD crowd?

First off, I play Call of Duty World at War alot. I like it. Its a great arcade shooter. I also spent many years playing CS and a dozen or more other FPS. I was a game artist so we were surrounded by them.

RO though, is the one I keep returning to. Its totally unique. Its a more intense and rewarding experience especially when you're on a good server with a good bunch of players who are communicating and working well together. Artillery is raw and genuinely terrifying (unlike CoD which is actually a bit dull .. how do you manage that!), maps have a unique feel and while not realistic are more imersing and interesting than any of the more realistic games I've played and their scale plays a great part in this. And as for tanks .. well .. there's a few faults but there's no other game out there that does it so well, especially when you're team tanking. Yes maybe Halo and others allow more than one person in a vehicle but they fail utterly to match the experience.

But reading some of the bumpf about HoS I get worried. The persistant player stats and unique weapons only available to heroes .. its the same as we see in CoD and is completely at odds with how I see RO. Imagine if in RO we could all suddenly have any weapon we want, as in CoD? If levelling up gave you an advantage? Theres CoD servers that exist solely so you can gain XP and access the better weapons. Is that what it's about?