• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

TWI and UnrealEd

knightmare106

Grizzled Veteran
Jun 21, 2009
We know that TWI is doing awesome with the upkeep of the game,especially the whitelisting which turned out better than expected :D

but does TWI have any plans for following up on the UnrealEd tool? there are some variables that we spend alot of time on just to find out the variable doesnt work (disallowed waves most frustrating for me)

There are alot of things in unrealed we just cant do, but feels like we should be able to since the options are there just to tease us atm. i have no experience in unreal scripting yet, but atm it is necessary to make new scripts for the simplest things we want to change (in my dumb theory) doesnt that mean we need to make a mutator for this?

SHORT VERSION:
hey TWI are there any plans for updating the UnrealEd at all?

I suspect you just might not know how to do some things, to do some actual havy duty modding, you don't actually use the editor, you use decompiled .uc files taken from the editor, this is how Unreal Engine modding has allways worked really since 1998 and onwards.

The Engine itself is perfectly capable of doing all kinds of crazy things, you just need to know how it's done, and accept that the editor was mostly made for mapping, its not so much a coders tool, for that there is the UCC compiler, i'd recommend looking around on Unreal Wiki, it explains a lot of things if you want to get into Unreal Script and making Mutators.

Upvote 0
no i havent tried to script for the engine, i wasnt saying i wanted to. i was reffering to the things in unrealEd that just dont function. but were made for killing floor, ive been around unreal wiki, you will not find help for killing floor specific values.