• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

Level Design RO-DG-Petros pre-beta thread

Since my previous level design studio contract is over and I have some spare time while I look around for more game studio freelance work, I thought I would do up a couple of RO maps.
I'll update this thread and screenshots every day or two while I work on these.
If anyone has any cool things they would like to see in a map, let me know, within reason. :p

Since I am a newbie at RO I trust that some of the better mappers (or TWI) might give me any required help with the RO-specific areas when I need it.

This is a few very early development shots of RO-Petros as of May 28.
This is about 7 hours total of dev time so far.
What you are seeing is a near completed base environment and placeholder trees and a building so that I can get a scale reference.
Coming next will be the road editing and all tree and bush placements.

Planned Features:
- large map size with hires 512x512 terrain
- dense tree and building design
- multi-figure-8 pathing layout
- at least four objectives
- a lot of custom features (textures, meshes and scripts)
- detailed environment including moving clouds, trees, grass, falling leaves, plus insects, real birds, etc.

Completed:
- main world setup and skybox
- hi-res terrain and initial layers and decos
- initial river
- moving clouds, moving grass, moving trees
- custom audio script is integrated (provides moving random sounds for environment)
- custom NPCs (non-player creatures, ie. real animals, birds in this case: vertex animated and scripted)
- some custom textures and sounds

To be completed:
- terrain editing for roads and train tracks
- temporary river FluidSurfaceInfo will be swapped out for a custom hi-res optimized xProcMesh
- river texenvmap
- custom staticmesh buildings (instead of using the common CSG Brush style)