• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

king tiger movie

t looks like the mix of a tiger and a panther. was it used effectively?

I'm no tank expert, but I will attempt to answer that question.

German heavy armour would be considerably overrated by Hitler throughout the war. He frequently would weigh equipment as the sole reason for winning a battle, when we all know that it's always a combination of sound strategy, good leadership, and quality training that wins battles, not necessarily the equipment they use. So, throughout the war, heavy tanks would be used in incorrect roles by demand of Hitler. Both the Tiger I and Tiger II are armed with 88mm guns (56 calibre for the former and 71 calibre for the latter), which pack an amazing punch using against Allied tanks at extreme distances. Despite their weight, both series of tanks had good mobility through the use of extra wide tracks, good suspensions, and easy steering control (all three of which also added to their cumbersome maintenance necessecities).

Given all of these attributes though, even the gun of a Sherman (75mm) can punch through a lot of armour if it's firing at extremely close ranges. While the 88mm guns of the Tigers could effectively ensure 1 shot kills 100% of the time at close ranges, their real strength was the ability to knock out most adversary tank of the war at ranges where they could not fire back. This makes for these heavily armed, heavily armored beasts extremely effective in a defensive role, where speed, maneuverability, and tactical use are more imporant in an offensive role. Remember, the German Army became famous for how they used their armour, not what they used, as the the tanks themselves were actually routinely outclassed in all theatres of the war.