• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

There seems to be a few musicians here..... vol. 2

I'm not that into metal so I can't say much 'bout your stuff revolution. Sounds like you're a competent guitar player though. Not playing in any band?

I'm doing my thesis work right now, so I'm away from my regular music computer. But I managed to install ableton live on the work laptop, so here comes a soft little test track ;-)

Softig liveelectro

Upvote 0
Haha, no adlib unfortunately. All drums in that track are from the excellent (and free) virtual analog VST drummachine drumatic. It can do some really old-school drums :).

You really got the vocals down to an art there xancer :). But you really could make do with a bass players, sounds pretty empty in the lower registers at times. Also something I've always wondered about in the "doublekick" music, why are the kicks always mixed so extremely low with almost no ambience? I'd like to hear a track of this kind where the kicks are rumbling and have some body to them.

Upvote 0
yeah, we dont have any bass just yet, still waiting for him to lay the tracks..

the thing is if you add reverb to the kickdrum kicking that fast it will just sound like a continous sinus tone D:!.. i guess its also a matter of what one has to work with, kickdrums are easily the hardest thing to get to sound fat, unless you trig it.

Upvote 0
Hehe, nice vid there xancer. Gig at university? :)

As for the double kick sound, I was not talking about adding reverb to them, that would just blur things to hell ;-) But just loosen up on the release on the compressor a bit (I guess you compress or gate to shorten the sound)? but hell, wouldn't it work to split the dublekick signal to two channels, letting one have a fast compressor and the other one have ambience (mic up the room and lowpass it?) sidechained by the kick?