• Please make sure you are familiar with the forum rules. You can find them here: https://forums.tripwireinteractive.com/index.php?threads/forum-rules.2334636/

A bold claim...

THe original poster was slightly out of line but he does make a few valid points. There most certainly are bugs and things that need fixing. This is acknowledged by all. Tripwire is working on them but in my opinion they are doing so in a very poor manner. After several months, hearing the constant cry of "the patch is coming" becomes more annoying than reassuring. I have a sign hanging in my office which reads:

"There comes a time in every project when you must shoot the engineers and begin production."

FYI, I have an engineering degree.

The gaming industry has taken that saying to heart when it comes to shipping product initially. The result is there is hardly a game out there that doesn't need a patch. Often there are valid reasons for this, since individual computers vary so greatly. At the same time some glaring faults make it through very often...

Tripwire's problem, from my perspective, has been not taking that motto to heart when it comes to patches. Just how many things are you trying to accomplish with one patch? It would be better to get SOMETHING out to the community to attack the most glaring problems and then patch as needed moving forward.

The wonder of the internet has also made it possible for game publishers to put out shoddy products and fall back on the "patch" solution. There was a day, before everyone had the internet, when products had to work out of the box. I was very pleased with many games like Tie Fighter Wars before the internet became the crutch for shoody prouduct. I amnot saying Tripwire has intentionally shipped a shoddy product but the "patch mentality" has infected the whole industry and seems to have become more of a crutch than an enhancement...

Upvote 0
let me try to visualise something:
In house testers = lets say 5