Announcement

Collapse

Forum Rules

CHANGES
  • Items changed, or highlighted for future attention, on 20 July 2013 are highlighted in yellow.
Global Rules
  • Forum moderators may or may not be Tripwire Interactive staff members, but either way, please respect them, as they are the authority of the forums. Speaking to them with intentional spite will not be tolerated and may result in the loss of your forum privileges.
  • Any decisions made by any member of staff or moderator are final and not subject to discussion. Doing so may result in a ban from the site. The owners of Tripwire Interactive Forums reserve the right to remove, edit, move or close any thread for any reason, as well as to remove access to the forums for any individuals with or without warning for breaches of the rules.
  • If you have a complaint regarding another user, PM the appropriate moderators, or if you have an administrative issue, [RO]schneidzekk.
General Behaviour
  • Use the search function before posting. Chances are your question has already been answered.
  • Use a title that describes the content of your post. Don't use all caps or special characters to draw attention either in the title or the body of the post.
  • Up to 10 emoticons are allowed in a post
  • Political discussions are prohibited.
  • Flaming - We do not tolerate abusive, malicious, personal attacks. You will be banned if you persist in this behavior.
  • Trolls - Anyone deliberately antagonizing other forum users by posting 'flame bait' type messages is not welcome. You will be banned (possibly without warning depending on the severity of the issue) if you persist in this behavior.
  • Personal insults (directed at anyone) will result in a ban. If the behavior is not corrected, it will be made more permanent.
  • Constructive criticism is welcome. However keep in mind we (and other forums goers) may not agree with you. If you can't keep the conversation civil, you will be removed from the forums.
  • The use of hyperbole, one liners, and images as part of a forum debate is likely to get you infracted. You have many ways to participate and be a constructive part of this community, even when you disagree.
  • To make the highlighted bits above 100% clear to everyone, the following WILL NOT BE TOLERATED:
    1. Personal attacks, insults, antagonism of any forum-goers, moderators or Tripwire Interactive staff.
    2. Breaches of confidentiality and privacy of any sort.
    3. Any form of racism, bigotry or attacks on race, creed or color.
    4. Linking to posts on other forums related to ANY of the above, whether you are the originator or not, without exception.
  • There has been too much in the way of abhorrent personal behaviors in the past. These will cease. It doesn't matter who started it or who reacted to it - it will all result in moderator action. If you have to indulge your hatreds, for whatever reason, go do it elsewhere - and do not try and drag our forum-goers over to enjoy your hatreds.
  • We understand that people have strong feelings about our games, what we do for a living and how we respond (or don't) to comments on the forums. We all aren't going to agree about everything. So, BE CIVIL in your disagreements!
DO NOTs
  • DO NOT Transmit any message, information, data, text, software or graphic files, or other materials ("Content") that is unlawful (including illegal drug usage), harmful, threatening, abusive, harassing, defamatory, vulgar, obscene, libelous, hateful or racially, ethnically, sexually or otherwise objectionable. This includes publicizing private information, such as individual's real names, IP addresses and anything else that might be used to identify them to the freakier members of the internet. This also means you may NOT publically share private communications (PM, email or anything else) without the original poster's permission.
  • DO NOT Post or transmit any Content that contains a virus, Trojan horse or other mischievous Content.
  • DO NOT Post or transmit any unsolicited advertising, promotional materials, "junk mail", "spam", "chain letters", "pyramid schemes" or any other form of solicitation.
  • DO NOT link to posts on any other forums, or any other form of media, that breaches our rules. It will be treated just the same as if you had posted it here.
  • DO NOT Double Post, cross Post or restart closed threads.
  • DO NOT Intentionally or unintentionally violate any applicable local, state, national or international law, rule or regulation.
  • DO NOT Upload or transmit any Content that infringes any patent, trademark, trade secret, copyright or other proprietary rights ("Rights") of any party.
  • DO NOT post cheats or exploits; THIS INCLUDES ALL/ANY REFERENCES TO HACKING, PIRATED SOFTWARE etc.
  • DO NOT complain about being banned from a server and DO NOT complain about other players on servers - that is between you and the admin, no need to get the community involved.
Username, Avatar and Signature Rules
  • Multiple registrations result in a ban.
  • No offensive user names
  • Avatars:
    Avatars are disabled.
  • All signatures should not exceed the following size limits, you can have both text and images
  • - For text signatures: 4 lines normal size, 8 lines small size and up to 100 chars per line. Font sizes above 2 are not allowed. (Blank lines count as lines.)
  • - For images in signatures: 1 image up to 400 pixels wide, 150 pixels tall and 100kb in size plus 2 lines normal size text and up to 100 chars per line
Netiquette: Written text has no inflection, and, as such, you should be careful how you write your messages as interpretation will vary from person to person. Please take advantage of the built-in emoticons to add such expression to your words. Please remember the golden rule: to treat other forum users the way you would like to be treated. Please use common courtesy, and enjoy using Red Orchestra's forums
Offensive material
The following is a list of some things that MAY be considered "offensive" by the moderators and the team. This is NOT an exclusive list and it does depend very much on context.

Crossing the line into "offensive" territory is likely to get you asked to change your name, sig or avatar or to withdraw/delete posts. This will be done politely by the moderators. If you refuse to comply further action WILL be taken once started, ultimately leading to banning from the forums.

A key point: please attempt to use your brains. What is mild humour to you may well be deeply offensive to others. While we have no intention of acting as politically-correct "thought police", we are on the lookout for those things that can cause offense and, in some cases, are actually still illegal in some jurisdictions.
  1. Names recalling notorious war criminals or personalities.
  2. Names recalling atrocities and war crimes in general, or units with particularly odious histories.
  3. Use of obscenities and expletives.
  4. Blatant racism, mysogynism or many other "ism"s.
  5. Use of symbolism and regalia recalling Nazism or Fascism; this does not include pics of soldiers who happen to have such symbols on their uniform, unless we feel this has been done to provoke. Please note that many Nazi symbols (including the Swastika) are still illegal in Germany and other countries and considered deeply offensive by many Europeans.
  6. Use of symbolism and regalia recalling Stalinism.
  7. On both the previous two, the moderators' views on the intention and impact of use of such symbols will be final - not yours. Please be understanding if you are advised to change something.
  8. In general, if a sig/avatar represents your allegiances in-game and is clearly "in part", it is likely to be fine; if the moderators feel you are trying to demonstrate unpalatable political allegiances, or to use it in an attempt to ridicule or provoke others you WILL be asked to change it. RO is NOT the place to make any extremist political statements of any kind.
Examples:
So people get the idea, some examples that would be considered offensive, numbered as above:
  1. "Hitler", "Beria"
  2. "NKVD Blocking Detachment", "Einsatzgruppen"
  3. This one should be pretty obvious...
  4. So should this - and it includes calling all Germans "Nazis" and all Soviets/Russians "Commies". It got boring 50 years ago, so stop it.
  5. Use of swastikas, fasces, SS-runes and so on for the Axis.
  6. There is actually very little overt symbolism from the Stalinist era; the hammer-and-sickle isn't offensive per se.
A simple rule-of-thumb: many Europeans find Nazi symbolism of any sort offensive; many Americans still find Soviet symbolism offensive. Engage your brain before using.




Final Note: this is NOT open to debate, so please do NOT start whining and moaning if a moderator asks you to change something. They will advise at first, giving reasons, then, if you take no notice, they will step up the pressure through to banning.
See more
See less

To decrease load times, turn off precaching and change game cache size

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • To decrease load times, turn off precaching and change game cache size

    1) Find your Redorchestra.ini file located in the steam/steamapps/common/redorchestra/system folder (hint it looks like a notpad icon with a cog)
    2) Change the cache size to better match your ram size
    Listed under [Engine.GameEngine].

    256 Megabytes of RAM or less
    CacheSizeMegs=32

    512 Megabytes of RAM
    CacheSizeMegs=64

    768 Megabytes of RAM
    CacheSizeMegs=128

    1 Gigabyte of RAM or more
    CacheSizeMegs=256

    EDIT BY Zetsumei: NEVER make CacheSizeMegs bigger than 256mb unless you like crashes!

    Fix2: Turn of PreCaching
    Also in your redorchestra.ini under [ALAudio.ALAudioSubsystem]
    Change UsePrecache=True to UsePrecache=False
    and under [Engine.LevelInfo]
    Change bNeverPrecache=false to bNeverPrecache=true
    and under [Engine.NullRenderDevice]
    Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
    and under [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice]
    Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
    and under [D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
    Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
    and under [OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
    Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
    and under [PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice]
    Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
    Last edited by Zetsumei; 05-20-2009, 07:17 AM.

  • #2
    Thanks i just did it, ill test to see if it works better now
    [IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v392/xtc-alec/fdsdf-1.png[/IMG]
    ROOST NAME:xtcalec
    DH NAME:Shifty66 (to avoid confusion )

    Comment


    • #3
      I assumed they fixed all that in the last update. Worth trying out though.

      Comment


      • #4
        Works like a charm, thanks guys
        [IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v392/xtc-alec/fdsdf-1.png[/IMG]
        ROOST NAME:xtcalec
        DH NAME:Shifty66 (to avoid confusion )

        Comment


        • #5
          I carried out these instructions to the letter, and still find that the map loading times are between 1-2 minutes. I fear my destiny will be to stay as a rifleman
          If there is anything else i could do to make load times faster, other than turn down my gf, then please let me know.
          Thanks
          [IMG]http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/1182/rpssw6.png[/IMG]

          Comment


          • #6
            Yeh it has worked alot
            [URL]http://wiinews2.blogspot.com/[/URL]
            Keeping You Up-To-Date With Wii News...

            [URL="http://profile.xfire.com/DarkRoy12"][IMG]http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/co/type/0/DarkRoy12.png[/IMG][/URL][URL="http://profile.xfire.com/DarkRoy12"]
            [/URL]

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by theniffrig View Post
              I carried out these instructions to the letter, and still find that the map loading times are between 1-2 minutes. I fear my destiny will be to stay as a rifleman
              If there is anything else i could do to make load times faster, other than turn down my gf, then please let me know.
              Thanks
              It would be interesting to know what kind of hardware you are using.
              In fact RO is one of the games that loads extremely fast for me. It usually takes 10 to 15 seconds max to load the next map.

              However, I have steam, and it's relating applications installed on a second partition.
              I also have my page file on a small extra partiion on second HDD.

              Also make sure you have defragmented your HDD.
              Can you post a Hijackthis log? I am really curious why it is taking your PC so long to load the game.

              Cheers
              [IMG]http://alphanut.com/misc/alphanutSig.jpg[/IMG]

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by AlphaNut View Post
                It would be interesting to know what kind of hardware you are using.
                In fact RO is one of the games that loads extremely fast for me. It usually takes 10 to 15 seconds max to load the next map.

                However, I have steam, and it's relating applications installed on a second partition.
                I also have my page file on a small extra partiion on second HDD.

                Also make sure you have defragmented your HDD.
                Can you post a Hijackthis log? I am really curious why it is taking your PC so long to load the game.

                Cheers
                Hi. Thanks for getting back to me on this one.
                Now, as i said, i carried out the tweaks to the letter, but still found my average load time for each map to be about 1 minute 30 seconds. This was weird, as my pc specs include 1 gb of ram, 2.4gb processer and a 64mb gfx card. I also have a good deal of space still left on the old hd. With that being the case, i decide to try out changing the cachesize that was suggested for 1gb of ram (256) to the next lowest, 768 mb (which is 128). Just after trying this now, and the map loaded in about 10 seconds. So quick infact, that it scared me a little
                (EDIT: Ok, it turns out that 10second load must have been a fluke, because i'm back to the long loading screens now.)

                As for your request for a 'Hijackthis log', i would do so if i knew how. Also, i have not defragmented my hd for a loooong time, and to be honest, it is well past due. The only thing that was putting me off the idea, was the length of time it takes to defragment. However, i'll heed your advice & i'll leave it on all night tonight, so when i wake up tomorrow, it will be done.
                Thanks again.
                Last edited by theniffrig; 08-12-2006, 10:38 AM.
                [IMG]http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/1182/rpssw6.png[/IMG]

                Comment


                • #9
                  Hi mate
                  Try O&O defrag - get the 30 day trial here:

                  http://www.oo-software.com/en/

                  Hijackthis is a tool that shows you all processes running in the bg, and other info.

                  You can then paste the log it creates in the text box on their page and it should tell you what processes which you have running are needed, and which ones aren't.

                  http://www.hijackthis.de/en

                  One more thing: What graphics card are you using currently? You mentioned that it only had 64 Megs. This might be one of your bottlenecks.

                  Really, your hardware specs would help investigation of the issue.
                  And it is very important that you defrag your HDD at leat once every 14 days if you play games. Better once a week if you have a lot of data swapping like me

                  gl, hf
                  [IMG]http://alphanut.com/misc/alphanutSig.jpg[/IMG]

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Ok, i downloaded hijackthis, and analysied my computer. If you want me to post the log here for you, let me know.
                    I also downloaded the o&o defrag, and will run it shortly.
                    My pc specs are:
                    OS: Win XP
                    Pentium 4 CPU 2.40 GHz
                    1.00 GB of RAM
                    NVIDIA Geforce 2 MX 400 64mb gfx card

                    My graphics are set on high, and the game actually runs fine once the map loads up, no lag. It's just the time it takes for the maps to load. I've set my graphics to normal/medium settings but the game load times remain the same.
                    [IMG]http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/1182/rpssw6.png[/IMG]

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by theniffrig View Post
                      NVIDIA Geforce 2 MX 400 64mb gfx card
                      Get a new card asap mate! MX400 is completely outdated. That's what is causing you a lot of headaches.

                      Check the hjt log online, but you can also post it here. But honestly, I am sure it is your graphics card causing all those issues.
                      Right now your graphics memory chips keep swapping data all the time this will give you a lot of hitches. Reducing texture quality, and other visual enhancement will help getting rid of those "hitches" during gameplay because less data "swapping" has to be done.
                      But other then that I am sure that defraging your HDD will give you an extra few frames.

                      I remember having an mx400 during my college time. That's a looong time ago
                      btw. mx400 are sold for about $5-10 on ebay nowadays.
                      Try to get something like a 6600GT if you are on a tight budget. They sell for around 50 bucks on ebay, and should give you a huge performance gain over what you are experiencing currently.
                      Last edited by AlphaNut; 08-12-2006, 12:09 PM.
                      [IMG]http://alphanut.com/misc/alphanutSig.jpg[/IMG]

                      Comment


                      • #12
                        Hehe. Yeah, i've been meaning to get a new card for a while now, as my current card doesn't support pixel shading, so some games wont even run for me. Thanks for all the help.
                        [IMG]http://img118.imageshack.us/img118/1182/rpssw6.png[/IMG]

                        Comment


                        • #13
                          welcome mate

                          see you on the field
                          [IMG]http://alphanut.com/misc/alphanutSig.jpg[/IMG]

                          Comment


                          • #14
                            FYI...The MX series of cards are not even Gamer cards...they were designed for Business 3D. (and I don't mean CAD...But Fancy Charts) And old GF2 offers more HP.

                            For $75 a 7300 with 128Mb would be a nice upgrade, $180 for a 7600 way way better for not much $$$.

                            Comment


                            • #15
                              Originally posted by Lonyo View Post
                              1) Find your Redorchestra.ini file located in the steam/steamapps/common/redorchestra/system folder (hint it looks like a notpad icon with a cog)
                              2) Change the cache size to better match your ram size
                              Listed under [Engine.GameEngine].

                              256 Megabytes of RAM or less
                              CacheSizeMegs=32

                              512 Megabytes of RAM
                              CacheSizeMegs=64

                              768 Megabytes of RAM
                              CacheSizeMegs=128

                              1 Gigabyte of RAM or more
                              CacheSizeMegs=256

                              Fix2: Turn of PreCaching
                              Also in your redorchestra.ini under [ALAudio.ALAudioSubsystem]
                              Change UsePrecache=True to UsePrecache=False
                              and under [Engine.LevelInfo]
                              Change bNeverPrecache=false to bNeverPrecache=true
                              and under [Engine.NullRenderDevice]
                              Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
                              and under [D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice]
                              Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
                              and under [D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice]
                              Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
                              and under [OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice]
                              Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
                              and under [PixoDrv.PixoRenderDevice]
                              Change UsePrecaching=True to UsePrecaching=False
                              What is cache size? Is it my video memory or what?

                              Comment

                              Working...
                              X